Daaga, Deosaran get T&T's highest award

Share on Facebook

A number of deserving citizens have received national awards on the country’s 51st anniversary of Independence.

The Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, the nation’s highest award, was already given to Chief Justice Ivor Archie in the Sphere of Law on Wednesday and on Saturday evening, two more persons received the country's highest accolade. 

They are Cultural Ambassador, NJAC's Makandal Daaga, and Chairman of the Police Service Commission, Professor Ramesh Deosaran.

Jehue Gordon, T&T's Gold Medallist in the 400M Hurdles at the World Championships in Russia, was to receive the nation's second highest award the Chaconia Medal Gold. However, Gordon is in Europe completing the Diamond League and was unable to attend the ceremony which took place for the first time at the South National Academy for the Performing Arts in San Fernando.

Other notable awardees included the Head of the Anglican Diocese, Bishop Claude Berkley in the Sphere of Religion; Pamela Nicholson, a Retired Educator/Politician in the Sphere of Public Service; Orthopaedic Specialist Dr. David Garth Toby in the Sphere of Medicine and Lynette "Granny" Luces in the Sphere of Sport.

Three awards were given posthumously to Louis B Homer, Journalist in the Sphere of Journalism; Justice Wendell Neil Kangaloo in the Sphere of Law and Police Officer Hayden Dale Manwaring in the Sphere of Gallantry.

* The following is the full list of awardees for 2013:

Order of the Republic of T&T
Cultural Ambassador Makandal Daaga (national service)
Prof Ramesh Deosaran (academics and national service)
Chief Justice Ivor Archie (law)

Chaconia Medal, GOLD
Appeal Court Judge Wendell Kangaloo (posthumous)
Retired Justices Shafeyei Shah and Appeal Court judge Margot Warner

The Rt Rev Claude Berkley, Bishop of T&T and head of the Anglican Diocese
Senior Orisha priestess Valerie Stephenson Lee Chee
Pundit Utham Maharaj, Dharmacharya of T&T

Jehue Gordon
Pamela Nicholson, retired educator and politician (public service)
John Humphrey, former politician and legislator (public and community service)

Chaconia Medal, SILVER
Dr David Garth Toby (medicine)
Rev Cecil Quamina, senior pastor (religion)

Humming Bird Medal, GOLD
Journalists Louis B Homer (posthumously)
Theron Boodan
Lynette “Granny” Luces, athlete (sport)
Musicians Shivannand Maharaj and Earl Knight
Attorney Ramesh Persad-Maharaj (law and religion)
Businessmen George Janoura and Shaheed Mohammed

Humming Bird Medal, SILVER
Businessman Harbance Seejattan
Ramragee Prabhoo, artiste (culture)
Trade unionist John Jaglal (labour)

Humming Bird Medal, BRONZE
Martial arts instructor David Anthony Chin Leung (sport)
For gallantry:
Police officer Hayden Dale Manwaring (posthumously)
Labourer Shiv Bansraj
Construction worker Ganesh Bansraj
Painter John Julien
Retired police officer Hubert Peter “Flagman” Diaz (national service)
Kiwanis Club of St Helena (community service)

Public Service Medal of Merit, GOLD
Dr Steve Ravindra Budhooram (medicine)
Retired Permanent Secretary Roopdial Ramnarine
Media productions specialist Roy Rique
Attorney at law Deo Bhagowtee
Retired principal Michael Samuel (education)
Retired Commissioner of Valuations Ronald Heeralal

Public Service Medal of Merit, SILVER
Retired public servants Sita Dalkan-Pragg and Johnny Ramdular

Medal for the Development of Women, GOLD
Pundit Dr Indrani Rampersad (religion and community service)
Public servant Aileen Clarke (national service)
Affieza Ogeer, president of the ASJA Ladies’ Association (community

Written by C News